Largo da Carioca, 1650


This file appears in: Largo da Carioca
Largo da Carioca, 1650

The first structure built by the Franciscans at this location dates to 1592. The Convent of St. Antonio dates to 1603. By the mid-17th century, the Franciscans would allot a piece of land in front of the convent to bury enslaved African and Indigenous people. It was known as the "Slave and Indian Cemetery", operating from 1655 - 1709.


This file appears in: Largo da Carioca